The Tragedy

IMG_3005

Today in one of my art classes we were discussing the above art work by Pablo Picasso entilted “The Tragedy”.  We discussed the subject matter, elements of art and principles of design.  We turned to our partners, asked the questions why and what if the image was red instead of blue.  Student gave me specific evidence from the image (text) to support their opinions and/or reasons.  We used all the common core like language required.  Finally, I asked students to think about their life and create an image of something sad.  It could be a global issue like hunger, homeless (referred to by Picasso), or something personal in their own lives.

They started working and then I thought about the same question as I walked around the class.  Some students were working quietly focusing on the assignment at hand.  Most were talking more than creating, whining and complaining about how they “can’t draw.”  I encourage them as much as I could and then finally for the last 5 minutes of independent practice, class is nice.  Students are working and I could think again about the assignment.

A tragedy in my life…. I have had many and I know there are many more to come considering I am only 33 years old.  I focused on my students, observing them, remembering those 5 minutes….   Then they shared with their partner and shared out to the class.  I ask them, “what tragedy did you create in your artwork?”  Answers were mostly personal; divorce, fighting, death of beloved pets.  Students line up and left calmer then when they arrived, maybe due to the topic of class…  I love teaching art and I love to see student openly experiment and create.  To see them push beyond what they know and create.  So many students do not have confidence in themselves and they give up so fast.  They don’t want to try and it is easier to say “I can’t.”   A tragedy in my life….

Then it hit me, I will create my own artwork of a tragedy I live everyday. (I did only spend about 10 minutes on this.)

the tragedy of delaware educationHere is a tragedy I have seen everyday for the last month.  Beautiful spring weather and students chained to a desk and a laptop.  They cannot get to the finish line, the promise land of fun, playtime, creation and imagination, UNTIL they finish their tests.  This is the modern tragedy of Delaware education and it effects every other part of our children’s lives.

I hope that brighter times are just over that horizon and replace the blue of sadness with the pink of joy.

4 thoughts on “The Tragedy

  1. Reblogged this on Exceptional Delaware and commented:
    I’d like to welcome another new blog in the Delaware education arena. Creative Delaware is written by an art teacher. This is very timely due to budget cuts going on around the state. Classes like art and music are in severe danger, and if you want them saved, now is the time to speak. Creative Delaware will do their part to spread the word to parents, but we need everyone speaking up who supports more culture in our schools.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes ma’am – testing is the great tragedy of education – but an equal tragedy – the conditions in America and in Delaware that has brought public education to its knees

    And yes – art and poetry and creative expression are the heart and soul of a civilized and compassionate society

    I love the image you created as it shows clearly how our children feel with this

    Like

Leave a Reply

