Delaware Professional Appraisal System 101: Part 6 of 6

Component 5:  Student Achievement

Yeah, I do not have much to say about this component for a few reasons.  One, it hasn’t counted yet….  Yup, we give our students these tests and they do not count for the students or the teachers…..  There are so many issues that the scores do not count for the individuals, just the school…..

Now, a positive.  There is an art test for me to give to my students.  This is the highlight of this whole evaluation system.  When this component counts, I will be evaluated with art, not math and ela like many other states in the country. These art test are well written, developmentally appropriate and make sense to the teacher unlike the Smarter Balance tests.

There is a training in Dover on October 1st, 2015 to explain this component and any new changes in the system since it changes every year.

I hope all of these posts were helpful!

Delaware Professional Appraisal System 101: Part 5 of 6

Component 4: Professional Responsibilities

This component is my biggest problem with this evaluation system.  I am a state leader in the visual arts.  I was rated proficient for this component.  How is that possible when I have been a leader in the arts for the past 4 years, elected by my peers?  You know how, my administrator never saw it….  Yes, because I was never given an opportunity to share my knowledge at the building level, I offered many times, I am only proficient because my administrator could not observe my level of performance.  That really wasn’t my problem, but I am the one being evaluated….

4a: Communicating with Families

This element of component four is very difficult for elementary and middle school art teacher because of the volume of students they teach.  A completely different rubric should be created for us in this area.

4b: Recording data in a Student Record System

In my last job, I did this and it was up to date and ready to be viewed on any day, but I was still proficient.  In my new job, I do not  grade.  I am not a teacher of record…. interesting, so I guess this area will be NA.  I will have to wait and see….

4c: Growing and Developing Professionally

THIS ONE IS MY, OMG!, I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT I AM NOT DISTINGUISHED!!!  I have went to New Orleans and participated in a few presentations.  I have went to Maine and represented and presented for the state of Delaware, and I just returned from Arkansas, one of 25 other art educators that were selected as the first class of School Art Leaders sponsored by the National Art Education Association.  All of this I have paid for myself and I am still proficient.  If I do not “seek out” professional development like it is stated in the distinguished column I am not sure what I should do….

4d: Reflecting on Professional Practice

Yeah, I was told that I was very reflective, more that most, but still proficient….

Professional responsibilities: If your admin does not see it, then it seems to not happen…

Delaware Professional Appraisal System 101: Part 4 of 6

I am very sorry that I have not been a little faster about finishing up this series.  Most people think that teachers have a relaxing summer off…. Well that is not true for me.  I turn into a stay at home mom, and being with two children that never go away is, but relaxing.  I am going to try to to finish this up in the next two days, so here we go!

Component 3: Instruction

This is the best component in this whole evaluation system.  I really do not have much to tell about it, except for the concept of “grouping students.”  Again, like in the other components, art teachers really do not group students.  If teachers have detailed, well written lessons, post procedures, routines, and rules in the classroom, and make sure students can explain everything.  You are good!