Be Proactive: Find the Leader in You

I currently work at a Leader In Me school and worked at one in the past.  Leader In Me is a schoolwide program focusing on overall human well being.  I really like the program and highly recommend googling it and getting books on the topic.  Society would be better if more adults adopted this life changing program.  Below is my favorite habit.  Please do more research if this sounds good for you. 

Overview: There are 7 habits to live your life by and if you can use all of them, your life will be more successful and rewarding.

Favorite: Habit 1: Be Proactive!  This is by far my favorite habit and the most important step in life’s journey.  “I am in charge of me!”  No one in this world can make me mad, sad, happy, or angry without my consent.  I have control. I can change my life. I can do the right thing no matter what.  I can solve my own problems. I can change the world.  

Being proactive is a mind set that very few people have.  It isn’t selfish.  It isn’t overbearing or controlling. It is the realization that I choose my path in life. I do not choose everyone else’s path, just my own.  I can change my fate. 

Being proactive is hard.  It is easier to be a victim.  To have others do for us.  To ask for help. Most times help isn’t needed, it is preferred. Many want others to solve their problems, but no one knows what we really want. I may not know what I really want and I will never find out unless I figure it out.  But it is easier to take what I am given.  It is easier to do what I am told even if that means I will never really know.  Know what?  The truth.  The truth about myself.  What I like. What I am good at.  What I want to do in life.  What I am passionate about.  

Get up off your ass and do something, anything to say you have really lived a true honest life that is yours! This is the root of habit 1.

Once you can think in a proactive way, the other habits fall into place and life becomes so much brighter…

Leave a Reply

