‘Twas the night before school…

OMG!  It is way into the wee hours of the morning and I cannot sleep.  Tomorrow is my first official day of school, not kids, just teachers. 

I am excited to get the year started. I get to lead the Pledge on Tuesday morning in front of the whole district staff. I can’t wait for the hustle and bustle of the first weeks of school.  And I am dreading it too.  Getting up at 5am, monitoring breakfast, writing endless lesson plans, and working on the weekends because I have too.  I will miss spending time on the beach or at the pool watching my babies play.  

School… So wonderful for some, and so god-awful for others.  It gets harder and harder every year.  Maybe because I have been teaching over half my life… Wow!  

I still love it! The smell of new wax on the floors.  Opening up boxes of new crayons.  Deciding what new fun things I will do in my classrooms!  It is nice, a new start every year.  A chance to change, be better, do more, or less. 

Teaching, the most important job there has ever been.  And I get to start it again, for the 14th year in a row.  To touch a child, to touch the future, in a way that most could only dream of…  Hopefully I will get some sleep too!  

Leave a Reply

